Crystal Cabin Awards 2017

Image via Crystal Cabin Award

APEX Insight: The 21 finalists have been announced for the 11th annual Crystal Cabin Award, which recognizes innovations in aircraft cabin design across several categories. The winners will be awarded during the Aircraft Interiors Expo in April.

The Crystal Cabin Award recognizes innovations in aircraft cabin design by aircraft manufacturers, airlines, suppliers, engineering firms and universities. The 21 finalists have been selected from a shortlist including 85 applicants from 21 countries. The winners will be announced during the Aircraft Interiors Expo on April 4 at Hamburg’s Hotel Atlantic Kempinski.

The finalists will compete for the top position the following categories:

1. Cabin Concepts
C Series Cabin is clever – Bombardier
Delta One Suite – Delta Air Lines (cooperation partners Thompson Aero & Factorydesign)
United Polaris – United Airlines (cooperation partners PriestmanGoode, Acumen, Zodiac Aerospace, Encore, Boltaron & Kydex)
Previous winner (2016): Etihad Airways’ First-Class Suite on Boeing 787

2. Cabin Systems
WATCHDOG – Prevention of Inadvertent Slide Deployment – Airbus
Power Line Communication (PLC) for Aircrafts – Diehl Aerospace (cooperation partner Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts)
ECOS Luggage Management System – ZEO/Zodiac Aerospace
Previous winner (2016): B/E Aerospace’s Viu Lighting System

3. Electronic Systems
Towards Wireless Aircraft – Airbus
GEE’s Airtime Portal – Global Eagle Entertainment
niceview MOBILE – Lufthansa Technik
Previoius winner (2016): Lufthansa Systems’ BoardConnect Portable Solution

4. Greener Cabin, Health, Safety and Environment
ReTrolley – Airbus (cooperation partner Airbus Corporate Innovation)
GermFalcon UVC Airplane Sanitizing Device – GermFalcon
Revolution™ Toilet – Zodiac Aerospace
Previous winner (2016): Boeing’s Clean Cabin Lavatory

5. Material and Components
Direct Digital Printing for Interior Parts – Diehl Aircabin
K-Reflexion- the revolution of plastic mirrors – Krüger Aviation
Octaspring Lightweight Seat Cushion – Studio Moderna BI/Boxmark d.o.o (cooperation partners Airbus & Stelia)
Previous winner (2016): SEKISUI SPI’s Infused Imaging

6. Passenger Comfort Hardware
Smart Cabin Reconfiguration – Airbus (cooperation partner RECARO Aircraft Seating)
CRJ Series PRM Lavatory – Bombardier
Galley-Bar-Module (GBM) – Diehl Comfort Modules (cooperation partner Lufthansa Technik)
Previous winner (2016): Rebel Aero’s Booster Economy Seat Design

7. University
Smart Onboard Wheelchair (Smart OBW) – HAW Hamburg: Rueckbrodt, Reimer & Waldheuer (cooperation partner Airbus Hamburg – ProtoSpace)
myseat – TU Delft: Akkerman (cooperation partner Zodiac Aerospace)
The Revitalisation System – TU Delft: Riedel, Erkelens, Iacoviello, Kersten & Randles (cooperation partner Zodiac Seats U.S.)
Previous winner (2016): Delft University of Technology

For more information on last year’s winners, click here.

Kristina is digital editor of APEX Media. Plane and simple.