September 10, 2019

LOS ANGELES, USA (10 September 2019) – The Airline Passenger Experience Association (APEX), which serves nearly every major airline in the world as the only non-profit membership trade organization dedicated to improving passenger experience for the past four decades, announced its new 2019-2020 Board of Directors.

Several members were elected/re-elected to the new Board, including: Juha Järvinen, Executive Vice President Commercial, Virgin Atlantic; Anton Vidgen, Director, Brand Experience, Air Canada and Maura Chacko, Vice President, Development, Spafax and Michael Childers, Chief Consultant, Content and Media Strategy, Lufthansa Systems. Jovita Toh, Chief Executive Officer, Encore Inflight Limited and Perry Cantarutti, Senior Vice President Alliances, Delta Air Lines were elected as new Directors.

These Board members join APEX President Emeritus Brian Richardson, Managing Director, Marketing & Strategic Partnerships, Viasat, APEX Treasurer: Joan Filippini, SVP, Non-Theatrical Sales, Paramount Pictures, and Directors: Andres Castañeda: SVP Marketing and E-Commerce, Aeroméxico; Zina Neophytou Director, Travel and Special Markets, BBC Worldwide and Akira Mitsumasu, Vice President, Global Marketing, Japan Airlines.

“To be selected by our membership to represent them is an honor and responsibility each Board Member takes seriously,” said Katie Goshgarian, APEX Executive Director. “The 2019-2020 Board of Directors is committed to understanding and building upon the aspirations of our membership, and advancing our association and the industry at large.”

Elected by APEX members, the Board of Directors comprises volunteers from both airline and vendor member companies; each brings insight and experience to meet the growing needs of the association and industry.

The 2019-2020 Board was announced during the association’s Annual General Meeting at the 2019 APEX EXPO, the industry’s largest members-only passenger experience event dedicated to the entire passenger experience. EXPO drew nearly 5,000 attendees – including representatives from more than 125 global airlines.  APEX EXPO was co-located with International Flight Services Association (IFSA) Conference & EXPO, and Aircraft Interiors Expo (AIX) Americas.


·       President – Juha Järvinen, Virgin Atlantic
·       Vice President– Anton Vidgen, Air Canada
·       Treasurer – Joan Filippini, Paramount Pictures
·       Secretary – Maura Chacko, Spafax
·       President Emeritus– Brian Richardson, Viasat

·       Andres Castañeda, Aeroméxico
·       Perry Cantarutti, Delta Air Lines
·       Michael Childers, Luftansa Systems
·       Zina Neophytou, BBC Worldwide
·       Akira Mitsumasu, Japan Airlines
·       Jovita Toh, Encore Inflight Limited

For more information on APEX please visit, sign up for the APEX Daily Experience e-newsletter, or follow APEX on TwitterFacebookInstagram,and LinkedIn.


About The Airline Passenger Experience (APEX) 
APEX encompasses a network of businesses and professionals that are committed to providing a world-class airline experience for passengers around the globe.  As a non-profit, APEX reinvests all of its resources to better serve its members.  Every day, APEX members evaluate the passenger experience through an influential community and are improving every aspect of the airline experience: from designing, building and installing seating, entertainment and communications systems on commercial aircraft, to airport lounges and inflight dining.  APEX works to strengthen the industry and enable business opportunities through education, innovation, networking and recognition.  For more information, please visit